Renewal notices are mailed out as courtesy reminders 6 weeks prior to the expiration date of the license plate. They are not forwarded to address changes.
If you have sold your vehicle within 3 months before your renewal month, then your old vehicle may still be on the renewal notice. If that's the case, you need to inform us that the vehicle has been sold and it will fall off next year.
If you have bought a new vehicle and transferred the plate within the past 3 months, then it may not be on the renewal notice. Bring in the plate number and we can make sure the correct vehicle is getting renewed.
If you have not received a renewal notice, then you can bring your registrations or your plate numbers with the insurance and we can get those renewed.
State law requires applicants to provide proof of insurance on each vehicle being registered. This can be an insurance card issued by the insurance company, or a photocopy thereof, a binder of insurance, a motor carrier ID number issued by the state corporation commission, fleet insurance, or a certificate of self insurance issued by the Insurance Commissioner.
We also accept insurance off of your phone.
License plates for cars, pick-ups, motorcycles and RVs in Kansas expire based on the first letter in the last name of the first person listed on the title
Month Last Name Renew Expire
February A 1-15 2-28
March B 2-15 3-31
April C , D 3-15 4-30
May E , F , G 4-15 5-31
June H , I 5-15 6-30
July J , K , L 6-15 7-31
August M , N , O 7-15 8-31
September P , Q , R 8-15 9-30
October S 9-15 10-31
November T , V , W 10-15 11-30
December U , X , Y , Z 11-15 12-31
In order to title a vehicle, the applicant must have an assigned title or Manufacturer's Statement of Origin. The new owner has 60 days to bring the documents into the office for processing. After the 60 days, penalties will be assessed.
Vehicles with out-of-state titles must have a VIN inspection done before the vehicle can be titled in Kansas. This procedure is checking for stolen vehicles and matches the VIN number on the car to the one on the title. This is not a safety inspection.
Kansas Vehicle Property Tax Check
Visit the Kansas Department of Revenue Property Check page
The Dickinson County Treasurer's Office is an agent of the State of Kansas for registering and titling motor vehicles. We issue license plates upon receipt of proper documentation and submission of the correct fees. The fees include registration fees, personal property taxes, title fees and sales tax, if applicable.