Certification Levels

The First Responder

The First Responder level of certification enables the person to provide basic emergency medical care on the scene. Generally, first responders are affiliated with a local fire department or EMS. Approximately 60 hours of training is required.

Emergency Medical Technicians-Basic Level

At this level, Certified Emergency Medical Technicians (EMT-B) are trained to assess and manage medical and traumatic emergencies. They are able to administer basic life support and approximately 200 hours of training is required to earn this certification.

Emergency Medical Technicians-Defibrillation Level

Emergency Medical Technicians (EMT-D), at this certification level, are skilled in defibrillation and assessing EKG rhythm strips. This certification requires 60 hours of training in addition to the completion of the Basic level.

Emergency Medical Technicians-Intermediate Level

Certified Emergency Medical Technicians (EMT-I) at the intermediate level are skilled in IV administration and advanced airway management. To complete this certification, the Emergency Medical Technician Basic requirement must be met and 100 hours of additional training is needed.

Paramedic (MICT)

A paramedic (MICT) is skilled to give the highest level of pre-hospital care. This advanced life support certification personnel is trained to administer medications, skilled in advanced airways, and trained in other advanced maneuvers. This associate degree program requires approximately 2,000 hours of training.