One Case of Measles Confirmed in a Kansas Resident

The Kansas Department of Health and Environment (KDHE) and
the Stevens County Health Department have reported a positive
case of measles in a resident of Stevens County. It is currently
unknown his case is linked to any ongoing measles
outbreaks in the United States. KDHE, along with the Stevens For Inmediate Release
County Health Department, are notifying individuals who may
have been exposed to this case of measles. This incident marks
the first measles case in Kansas since 2018.
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Early symptoms of measles are a fever of more than 101 degrees Fahrenheit. runny nose, cough, and red,
watery eyes. Usually, one to four days after these early symptoms, a red rash appears on the face and
spreads to the rest of the body. Measles symptoms typically develop 10-14 days after exposur}e.
Symptoms can develop as soon as seven days and as long as 21 days after exposure.

Measles is a respiratory disease caused by a virus. Measles is spread through the air by breathing,
coughing or sneezing. Measles can be spread from an infected person to others from four days before, to
four days after the rash appears.

Because measles is a highly infectious disease, it is very important for anyone exposed and experiencing
symptoms to isolate from others with the exception of visiting a health care provider.

The best way to prevent measles is to get the Measles, Mumps and Rubella (MMR) vaccine. The Centers
for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) recommends children get their first dose at 12 to 15 months of
age, and a second dose at age 4 to 6 years. Infants ages 6 through 11 months old should get the MMR
vaccination if traveling outside the United States. Adults are protected from measles if they have had at
least one dose of the MMR vaccine, were born before 1957, or have evidence of immunity from a blood
test.

If an individual has known exposure to somecne with measles and they are not immune through
vaccination or prior infection, they are recommended to:

« Consult with a health care provider to determine if post-exposure prophylaxis is recommended.

e Exclude themselves from public settings for 21 days from the last time they were exposed unless
symptoms develop.

¢ |f symptoms develop. individuals should notify their local health department and stay away from

public areas until four days after the rash appeared.

¢ Individuals seeking health care are advised to call ahead to their health care provider and let them
know their symptoms and exposure concerns. This will help limit exposure within the healthcare
setting.

Per K.A.R. 28-1-2, measles is a four-hour reportable disease. If a health care provider, laboratory or
hospital suspects, tests, or diagnoses an individual with measles, KDHE should be notified immediately.
KDHE will work with the health care provider on testing recommendations. Teachers and school
administrators are also required by law to report suspected cases to KDHE.

Measles cases rarely occur in Kansas and are usually associated with international travel.



